sivananda yoga

I first went to India in 2002 and fell in love with the Sivananda Ashram in Kerala, South India. I completed the month long intensive Yoga Teacher Training Programme and then later that year completed the Advanced Teacher Training Programme in Canada.

In November of the same year I returned to the Ashram to live and work for a year as a karma yogi, which basically meant I volunteered my time in exchange for living at the Ashram and having all my meals provided.  I taught yoga classes and worked in the office there. It was during this time that I met my now husband, Ranjith!  We've been married since 2004 and have 3 children, Jasmine, Amba & Kamran.

Sivananda Yoga is a simple, natural programme involving 5 main principles:

  1. Proper Exercise;
  2. Proper Breathing;
  3. Proper Relaxation;
  4. Proper Diet;
  5. Positive Thinking & Meditation

The yogic physical exercises are called Asanas, which means steady pose. The Asana is meant to be held for sometime, however this is quite an advanced practice. Initially our aim is simply to increase body flexibility.

Yoga exercise focuses first on the health of the spine, it's strength and flexibility.  By maintaining the spine's strength and flexibility through exercise, circulation is increased and the nerves are ensured their supply of nutrients and oxygen.

Benefits of Yoga:

  1. Increase strength & flexibility
  2. Work on the internal glands and organs of the body, as well as the muscles
  3. The endocrine system (glands and hormones) is rejuvenated, helping to balance the emotions and improve the mental outlook of life
  4. An hour long class will also provide deep relaxation & meditation

A Sivananda Yoga class is based on 12 basic postures, with lots of relaxation in between.  The aim is to increase the length of time of holding each posture.

We start with relaxation,  then Surya Namaska (Sun Salutation) then the 12 basic postures:

  1. Sirasan - Headstand (not usually for beginners!)
  2. Sarvangasan - Shoulderstand
  3. Halasan - The Plough
  4. Matsyasan - The Fish
  5. Paschimothanasan - The Head-Knee Pose
  6. Bhujangasan - The Cobra
  7. Salabhasan - The Locust
  8. Dhanurasan - The Bow
  9. Ardha Matsyendrasan - The Half Spinal Twist
  10. Kakasan - The Crow
  11. Pada Hasthasan - The Hands To Feet Pose
  12. Trikonasan - The Triangle

We end the class with relaxation

I am not currently teaching any classes.


This site uses cookies

Home / Contact Us